About the University of Ghana’s School of Law

What we know today as the University of Ghana Law School began as a modest Law Department at the then University College of the Gold Coast, in 1958. The Department of Law was headed by its only Professor and lecturer, Prof. J. H. A. Lang and was located in the East Wing of the Balme Library.

In 1961, the Department of Law was converted into a Faculty of Law by the then Head of Department, and first Dean, Prof. W. B. Harvey.

In the 2014/15 Academic Year, with the University of Ghana’s adoption of the Collegiate system, the Faculty became known as the School of Law, University of Ghana, under the leadership of its Dean, Prof. E. K. Quashigah.

Currently, the University of Ghana’s School of Law runs a four-year undergraduate LLB programme, concurrently with a post-first degree LLB programme.

It also offers LLMs in Oil and Gas Law and International Human Rights Law as well as MAs in International Human Rights and Alternative Dispute Resolution.

The School of Law is also home to a vibrant student community, steered by the Law Students’ Union, which manages this Blog.